Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-03-2009, 12:03 PM   #1

Upper Bed with the Fixed Tops

newbie here. love the forum, and I've been through most of the topics. I'm looking at an SMB as a full time home. I'm never home because of constant work travel, no longer married, but I've got 2 big dogs (that keep getting thrown into boarding or left with friends), and zero attachment to anything in my home (and an incurable wanderlust). The dogs would be fine sleeping in the aisle. Going solo (full time) means that I'm looking at more storage, more features, but less bed and seating. Even a gaucho seems like a terrible waste of space (for me). I'm not sure about the upper beds though. I'm 5' 10", average build. I do like the voyager tops (a raised PH is not stealthy in urban areas). Can someone post pics of the upper beds in action with the Voyager and Cruiser?

(not too much action! I'm on my work computer.)

I'm also trying to find the bed dimensions when using all panels... and if there is difference in upper bed sizes between the Voyager and the Cruiser tops. Thoughts?

vandweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 12:17 PM   #2
Site Team

Re: Upper Bed with the Fixed Tops

I'm sure your dogs would make sure your gaucho receives lots of use.

Full-timer with 2 big dogs? I'd consider a 2wd Sprinter conversion. Sprinters are becoming more commonplace, so while not stealthy, they can blend in fairly well, and give you much more interior and storage room than a Ford/Chevy based conversion.

Herb
Old 08-03-2009, 12:37 PM   #3

I should have mentioned that this vehicle will be going off road on the weekends and when I'm not on contract. -mostly beach (surfing and fishing), but there are some places I go that only a 4wd can get to.
Old 08-03-2009, 02:02 PM   #4
Site Team