Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-04-2016, 11:11 PM   #1

E350 Cruise Contol swap

Hi... Does anyone on here have experience w/swapping in a cruise control unit? ... I've searched here and elsewhere a lot.

I have sourced new parts to do this. I've found a rig out of state... from what I've read it's plug and play w/the new steering wheel, buttons, etc.

The airbag is the part that I have no experience with... Is there a capacitor wired into it?

I would like to install it myself and drive it home, after a test ride of course.

Would be a lot easier to drive for 3 days if my foot wasn't on the pedal, ya know?

StraightOuttaBallard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2016, 09:49 AM   #2

Airbag system does have a capacitor. You have to pull the battery terminal (both if you have duals!) and wait. Some cars spec 10 min. Some spec up to an hour. I don't remember the discharge time on the vans.

Are you doing this on a throttle-by-wire van? Make sure you match systems. Putting a cable-drive setup on a throttle-by-wire van won't work. The cable-to-pedal setups are really hokey and possibly dangerous (could cause a stuck throttle if anything binds). Throttle by wire setups don't use any cables but require dealer programming unless you know another shop with Ford IDS.
Old 09-05-2016, 12:38 PM   #3

Thanks for your response All the parts are OEM for a 2002 diesel E350... So deal w/the airbag and its plug and play from what I've read.

To be honest I haven't had to take the 2nd battery out of the box - which I gather that's what needs to happen to disconnect the hot terminal, right?
Old 09-05-2016, 01:07 PM   #4

Yeah, you'll have to drop the frame battery box. Good idea to clean it from time to time anyways.
Old 09-06-2016, 12:22 AM   #5