Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-23-2023, 05:45 PM   #1

Does your Ford 6.8l V10 use oil?

Mine does and I do not like it.

Backstory, I've been screwing around with vans for 15 years or so now and have owned 4 Ford V10s if my count is correct. I've been on lots of forums such as this one where V10 and other Ford engine info is frequently discussed. It's possible, perhaps probable, that I'm just an idiot but I do not recall V10 oil consumption EVER being discussed except perhaps with the occasional damaged engine thread.

But, here we are. My current V10 uses oil. Doesn't smoke EVER, not at startup, not after sitting. It doesn't leak it either but it does in fact 'use' it, which is maybe my in-denial of saying it burns it.

Turns out this is completely normal. That is what's weird. Google it yourself if this comes as a surprise to you. It came as a rather huge surprise to me. Ford even has printed information on it somewhere, supposedly.

https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1...vice-says.html

I bought my current van and only drove it about 3k miles the entire time I was building it, the last 6 months give or take. I changed my oil recently and went on a 5500 mile trip from TN to NW Montana and back. I was surprised after 2 days on the road (approx 1500 miles) to find that my oil was at the low mark. I always travel with a quart so I added it and then started Googling.

Also, I stopped by a dealer in Casper WY and picked up a PCV valve and swapped it just to make sure that wasn't the problem. It wasn't. I added 2-3 more quarts over the course of my trip.

What's weird is that about half the people on the omnipotent internet say their V10 never uses a drop, which is precisely my experience with my previous ones. The other half say yep, completely normal, never gets worse, just put oil in it.