Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-14-2011, 09:27 PM   #1

New Fridge Installation

When we got our used SMB earlier this year, it came without a refridgerator. The RB32 floorplan chosen by the PO didn't come with one and the PO didn't add one. I have been camping with coolers since my parents took me camping for my 1st birthday and I have a lot of experience in protecting food from the swamp, some of it more successful than not. It does get tedious and our floorplan does not have a good space for a camping cooler that is both convenient and out of the way. So a fridge was an attractive idea.

The cabinet prefered by Mrs. Kzinti, just to the right of the tall pantry cabinet is only 15-1/2" wide inside. Most fridges need a wider space but some searching produced a candidate, a 1.8 cubic foot Truckfridge http://truckfridge.com/tf49.html which is only 15" wide. There have been several good reviews of Truckfridges on TheSamba site http://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/ - use search on truckfridge to find relavant posts. This site is an excellent companion site to search for ideas on interior mods.

While 1.8 cf is not large, it's similar in volume to the ice chest I use and fits the space, so I made a call and a big box showed up a few days later. Inside the double box was a re-badged made-in-Italy Vitrifrigo. From TheSamba site, I knew Truckfridge rebadged, but they had been made-in-China models, so this was a plus:

The fridge is a compact, well-made unit that feels solid:

It has about 2" of insulation on all sides

It uses the very-well thought of Danfoss compressor which is efficient and very quiet. I can barely hear it run when it is on, including the 5" "puck" fan that blows through the heat exchanger:

Old 09-14-2011, 10:16 PM   #2

Re: New Fridge Installation