Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2016, 09:46 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
illking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 166
Send a message via AIM to illking
Installing CB

I just picked up a Cobra 75 for a good deal. I was wondering where to pull power from. Ive only added an accessory to my motorcycle and that had prewired leads. Do i run wire from the battery or is there a better place to do this?
__________________

__________________
www.thevanpires.com
2001 E250 RB30 Agile 4x4
1976 G30 Pathfinder 4x4 SOLD
illking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2016, 03:19 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
TexGX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 466
Garage
I had wires installed above front seats for the house battery. If not there, I would connect to the rear battery to prevent any accidental draining of the starting batteries.

TexGX
__________________

__________________
TexGX
2003 7.3PSD RB50 Quigley (The Yeti)
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=13220
2006 Casita (Makes it a three bedroom 1 and 1/2 bath)
TexGX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2016, 03:23 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Bbasso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 1,258
Personally I would run a 10 gauge wire from your house battery with a fuse in it straight to your CB.
__________________
Rob.
Current:
2001 E350 PSD w/ a bunch of stuff.
And had three other E350s...
Bbasso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2016, 04:38 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oregon Ciry Oregon
Posts: 2,424
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bbasso View Post
Personally I would run a 10 gauge wire from your house battery with a fuse in it straight to your CB.
I would suggest running a separate 10 gauge ground wire back to the battery as well. That way you will have the best power and best ground available which will help reduce stray emissions.
__________________
"A straight line may be the shortest distance between two points but it is by no means the most interesting". Jon Pertwee as Dr. Who, The Time Warrior.
larrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 07:28 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Scalf77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,477
A lot of how and where you wire this in depends on how you want it to work and the way your van is already wired. While wiring directly to your battery is the easiest thing to do, unless the item your wiring draws a lot of current, I would try not to do so.

If you want to tap into your existing accessory circuit, using one of the piggy back fuse holders would work. Robot Check That of course puts it on your starting battery, and would have power when driving or the key is accessory mode.

You can wire it into your house battery, but here again it would be better to tap into the Fuse distribution for your house battery rather then going directly to the battery . 10 Gauge seems excessively large for this device, but much of that would be determined on the overall circuit length.

Direct battery power connections can cause issues later on if you want to install battery disconnects, battery monitors, and such.

-greg
__________________
2004 E350 EB V10 E/PH 2WD
Scalf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 09:27 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
illking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 166
Send a message via AIM to illking
Thanks for the suggestions. I mostly plan to use it to stay in touch with other pals in convoy or when out of cell reception and maybe listen to some chatter now and then. But most of its life will be not in use and the radio disconnected. Ill probably mount the box out of sight under the dash near the dog house, and hang the mic near the right of the steering wheel. I like the add a fuse idea, does it actually have a fuse in it or do i then add an inline fuse?

Eventually ill get a sat phone for emergencies. Last year we experienced two near death experiences. One of wich a friends ham radio saved a guys life. I know a lot of us are far from reception lots of times, Those 2 experiences really shook me up, I have a SPOT for when i ride my dirtbike solo but ill be keeping that in the rig from now on.
__________________
www.thevanpires.com
2001 E250 RB30 Agile 4x4
1976 G30 Pathfinder 4x4 SOLD
illking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2016, 11:40 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
arctictraveller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,835
Quote:
Originally Posted by illking View Post
I like the add a fuse idea, does it actually have a fuse in it or do i then add an inline fuse? .
The supplied power wires are probably fused, but you must ALWAYS add a fuse at the power source. The power cord supplied fuse protects the radio, but you need to protect the supply wires. The idea is that if there is a short, the wire between the battery and the supplied fuse could melt causing a fire if there isn't a fuse at the source. That fuse is sized to protect the wire, not the radio. Every wire has a maximum current carrying capacity beyond which it will overheat. That capacity is your maximum fuse size.
__________________
Arctic Traveller
KC6TNI
2001 GTRV
Advanced 4wd
Agile Ride improvement package
www.arctictraveller.com
arctictraveller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2016, 08:04 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Scalf77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,477
If you use a piggy fuse, you pull out they existing fuse to the circuit you are tapping into, put in the piggy back with the fuse you pulled out into the main position. Then you will fuse the appropriately for the added circuit, there will be a inline fuse on the radio already, if you do not lengthen the wires provided the you could use the same value fuse for the piggy back fuse. Keep the wires as short as you can , make sure you ground is a very good ground connection. Make sure the wire crimp from the piggy back to the Radio wire is good, purchase a good crimper.

There are lots of ways for you to do this, but this should be pretty easy.
-greg
__________________

__________________
2004 E350 EB V10 E/PH 2WD
Scalf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.