Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2016, 07:54 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Kitty Hawk
Posts: 335
portable solar question

I was given these 2 solar panels. They have 8' leads from the panel with alligator clips. They are putting out 17.65v under shady conditions.

Do I need to connect a controller to them?

How do I measure how many amps they are with just a meter?
Attached Thumbnails
solar2.jpg  
__________________

hogasm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 07:56 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Kitty Hawk
Posts: 335
They measure 14" x 15.5" each
Attached Thumbnails
solar1.jpg  
__________________

hogasm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 08:11 AM   #3
Site Team
 
BroncoHauler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southern New Mexico
Posts: 8,873
Does the back label indicate the Wattage of the panels? The physical size appears to be fairly small, so a pure guess would be the panels are about 10W so I wouldn't think you would benefit from a controller.


Herb
__________________
SMB-less as of 02/04/2012. Our savings account is richer, but our adventures are poorer.
BroncoHauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 10:33 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Kitty Hawk
Posts: 335
There is no information on the size of these panels.

Just don't want to ruin a good battery by leaving it attached in the driveway for extended periods with little to no voltage usage.
hogasm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 10:58 AM   #5
Site Team
 
daveb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Turlock Ca
Posts: 9,806
Garage
Solar Charge Controller Basics
__________________
2006 Ford 6.0PSD EB-50/E-PH SMB 4X4 Rock Crawler Trailer

Sportsmobile 4X4 Adventures..........On and off road adventures
daveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 11:58 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
arctictraveller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,835
Quote:
Originally Posted by hogasm View Post
How do I measure how many amps they are with just a meter?
Most meters have an amp setting (usually 10a max). There is normally a seperate input to measure amps, so just switch one lead from it's normal ohm/volt input to amps, place the selector switch on amps and then put the test leads in series with the output of the panel while connected to the battery. The amperage the panel puts out will depend on the state of charge of the battery, and if fuly charged, you will see reduced amps.
__________________
Arctic Traveller
KC6TNI
2001 GTRV
Advanced 4wd
Agile Ride improvement package
www.arctictraveller.com
arctictraveller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2016, 03:57 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: East Bay CA
Posts: 1,047
I don't think it could hurt to use a controller; might even help. And leave you with some kit that could be useful if you add panels.
__________________

__________________
2001 Ford E250 Sportsmobile with Salem-Kroger 4x4 conversion
rob_gendreau is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.