Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-09-2018, 08:31 PM   #1
Spr
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Illinois
Posts: 52
Shore power question

We are stumped. 2010 sportsmobile all systems and battery run great. Anytime we plug into campground shore power the shore power breaker trips. Multiple campgrounds throughout the country. We got one campground in Greyson highlands WV to work but it buzzed so bad I unplugged it.

Context: .... we plug into the honda 2000 generator and the power works great...... I plug in at home and itís perfect..... I plug in at storage and itís just fine...

What gives, is the van requiring too much juice for the camp Ground breaker OR do I have an issue?

FYI, all campgrounds with issues have RVís plugged in and humming away.

Any thoughts? Itís hot as hell, and I would love some A/C tonight
__________________

Spr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2018, 09:21 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
MountainBikeRoamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: OrangeCounty, CA
Posts: 1,236
Garage
How many amp service is the RV power you're plugging into?
If it's 30amp service, perhaps your van's shore power breaker isn't rated for it? (Which of course seems weird.....)

Wondering several things:

1) are you the original owners of the SMB? And if so, did this circuiot breaker at one point in time NOT trip when you tried to use it in an RV park?

2) if you aren't the original owner (or even if you are), do you know if the SMB has its original circuit breaker in place, or was it replaced at one point?

Curious what your van's main circuit breaker is rated at....ideally it should be at least a 30amp, I would guess -- but perhaps it was replaced with a lower amp rating unit at some point?
Lastly (perhaps most importantly) -

3) does the circuit breaker pop immediately with nothing running when you plug in at the campground? Or, is it popping immediately **only when you have the AC running** ? AC will for sure pull a lot of amps...
__________________

__________________
Mike T
___________________
'95 Ford E250 RB30 PH
MountainBikeRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2018, 09:49 PM   #3
Spr
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Illinois
Posts: 52
Thanks for the quick reply
-not original owner, but close to it. Original owner put on 14,000 miles over 6 years. From the sounds of it I doubt he ever plugged into shore power .. and more confidently I would say it’s the original panel.

-van is rated at 30amp

-I have original smb power cord with 20 amp dog bone (?) and a sure power surge protector. Have tried 20amp with and without the surge protector and 30 amp with and without surge protector

-breaker trips when any plug is half way in with all power off on smb

-what gets me on the whole thing is the ability to runA/C on the generator and on home power
Spr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2018, 10:27 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
MountainBikeRoamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: OrangeCounty, CA
Posts: 1,236
Garage
Hmmm. Hopefully one of the more "Wizard-status" electrical experts can weigh in here, but if you're getting a circuit breaker panel tripping immediately with NO load on it, then that sounds like a short.

Are you using a different shore line at the RV park than the one you use at home? Maybe there's an issue with the line/socket itself....?
__________________
Mike T
___________________
'95 Ford E250 RB30 PH
MountainBikeRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2018, 10:35 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
MountainBikeRoamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: OrangeCounty, CA
Posts: 1,236
Garage
Ah --- also --- have you noted the amp rating/output of the RV-park power source you're plugging in to? Is it confirmed to also be 30 amp service?
__________________
Mike T
___________________
'95 Ford E250 RB30 PH
MountainBikeRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2018, 10:55 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
gcvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: SF, CA
Posts: 1,502
^ that was my first thought too. Is there a switch to select the amp rating from the power source? I've never plugged in but I've seen these switches before.
__________________
Greg
Old van: 1997 E250 EB30 (Stolen)
New van: 2003 E250 EB10
gcvt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 07:34 AM   #7
Spr
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Illinois
Posts: 52
Yes, the same cord is being used at home.
Also the park electrical panels usually have a 20amp outlet with a 20 amp breaker and a 30 amp outlet with a 30 amp breaker. No switch in the ones I’ve used

I also was thinking a short but that wouldn’t explain working at home (at least I wouldn’t think it would)
The only thing that’s different is the outlets used at home haven’t been GFCI like they are at the parks.... but it’s not like they are throwing the fuse in the main panel at home ????

Pretty confused
Spr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 07:51 AM   #8
Site Team
 
BroncoHauler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southern New Mexico
Posts: 8,828
Some previous threads. IIRC, I had an issue when I would plug into a GFCI outlet, but no problems when I plugged into non-GFCI outlet.

http://www.sportsmobileforum.com/for...sues-1785.html

http://www.sportsmobileforum.com/for...-gfi-7389.html

http://www.sportsmobileforum.com/for...ping-6675.html

http://www.sportsmobileforum.com/for...ower-5645.html

I know the above threads are GFCI related, but keep in mind, just because a particular outlet doesn't have a GFCI circuit (reset) on it, doesn't mean its not protected by being connected to a downstream GFCI outlet. Maybe there's something in the above threads that may apply.


Herb
__________________
SMB-less as of 02/04/2012. Our savings account is richer, but our adventures are poorer.
BroncoHauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 08:21 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
1der's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,847
Not sure this will help but thought I would put it out there -

Do you have a plug tester with lights that show proper wiring of hot, neutral, ground? When plugged into your house or generator, you might be able to check all your van plugs.

You are tripping w/ GFCI protected power sources but not tripping when attached to non- GFCI power. Something in your rig (or shore power cord) is likely reversed or shorted in a way that will yield that result. I would start with a continuity check of your shore power cord from connector to connector to see if there is a short. Check the dog bone separately. Perhaps start there.
__________________
Ray
Beastie 3: 2002 7.3 EB Cargo: Agile TTB, CCV Mid Top, Custom Walk Through, Lots of stuff added. BlingMyRig.com
1der is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2018, 08:24 AM   #10
Spr
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Illinois
Posts: 52
Seriously.... This forum is amazing!!! No other way to put it.

Page one of the first link from Herb’s post had the solution. Turn the inverter onto auto invert and then plug in. Give it a minute and switch to line only. FYI, I have a Tripp lite inverter We were just leaving the site and I gave it a try and it worked like a charm.

Thank you!!!

1der, thank you for the suggestion, yes we have one built into the surge protector for 30 amp and one separate one for the 20amp. Def the first thing I check
__________________

Spr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.