Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-08-2012, 04:10 PM   #1

done with interior, need advice on improving ride

hey all,
Now that I have the interior done(ish), I need to focus on how bad the ride is. Unless the paved road has been refinished recently, the ride is horrible. I have been replacing the steering stabilzers every year for 4 years to stop the Death Wobble, and im starting to think they are related.

Symptoms:
When driving over road seams, small potholes, or even bridge seams, the van shakes horrible. I know the 350 is wicked stiff, but I now have a full setup in the rear, it still feels stiff. It doesnt "float" at all. The front is also just as bad as the back, but I think the bumpers are being hit as well. I just cant believe its being compressed that bad, but the bumper plate def shows "wear" from being hit. Its just so darn stiff.

Questions:
Should I replace front shocks with something heavier?
Should I look into removing a leaf spring from rear (or other solution)?

My wife has a F250 6.0 and it rides so much better its not funny.
Any help/comments/rants/pictures/product suggestions would be awesome

2006 Ford Quigley, 60k 5.4 E350
33" Nittos

Rockman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 05:21 PM   #2

Re: done with interior, need advice on improving ride

Weigh it, then weigh your front and rear. Ideally- loaded with passengers.

This allows you to reduce your tire pressure accordingly, which might take some of the stiffness out of the tires. Second you can compare your rear weight to a good riding weight for the 350, decide if different springs or something else is best.

Bottoming out on the front won't be helped by stiffer shocks, there isn't much up-travel space in the vans.

You can pull one end of your shocks and see if they're blown out pretty easy. I wouldn't be surprised.

That's all the ideas I have.
Old 01-08-2012, 05:41 PM   #3