Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-06-2017, 11:29 AM   #1

TR - 11/5/17 Angeles NF East Blue Ridge

So my buddy was itching to get out and meet up and found some pretty interesting stuff on top of Blue Ridge in the Angeles NF. We were gonna hit up Blue Ridge and Guffy Campgrounds and see what gives. After my usual research I was slightly apprehensive as I am still a novice with the big van on exposed roads, but that's just me being silly.

Arrived at the turn off right above MT High Ski Resort on the 2 right about noon. Weather was blue bird with a little wind. Report was for a chance of rain. Off we went. The road is easy and not that steep with lots of turnouts. 4x4 is not necessary but I used it just to keep good traction and control. 3 miles in you hit Blue Ridge Campground and 3 miles after that, Guffy. We went out but came back to Blue Ridge and set up shop and just hiked around the ridge. Clouds came in and it was certainly an interesting weather night. No rain, but foggy and spooky in the trees.

Next morning we were in a cloud leaving but it ducked below it for some nice views over the Mineral Creek Drainage.

Decided to check out some other campgrounds so I dropped down to Vincent Gap on the 2 and took Big Rock Creek Road. A little spooked here as the van is not small and it was apparent that there is no place to turn around. Luckily the road is fine and nobody came up that first half mile. It drops down to Big Rock Creek and after 4 miles is paved. Easy out back to my place 45 minutes away.

Some very fun roads for a day trip from LA. Easy roads but I gained some confidence dealing with downhill and exposure. Cool weather is here so it's time to explore and get into some mandatory 4x4 trails.

Anyone else get those initial gut checks when you are about to take your expensive van you put tons of time into on sketchy roads?

Old 11-07-2017, 10:54 AM   #2