Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-09-2022, 08:56 AM   #1

On Board Air: Installation Help?

I recently picked up a used Kleinn air compressor (150psi and 50% duty cycle) and 1.5 gallon tank. It's marketed for air horns, but I'm just looking for something to VERY rarely air up my stock 2011 E250 245-16 tires and also to use when supporting youth mountain bike races (to seat tires, etc.). So I'm sure it will be fine for that. I plan to just run one outlet to be able to plug in an air chuck. It was only $90 so I figured why not.

I have just the bare tank and the compressor, as shown below. I need to buy the relevant drain plug, pressure relief valve, pressure switch, line(s), and an quick-release outlet. It's this system, just without any of the accessory pieces: https://kleinn.com/product/model-627...si-air-system/

I'm totally new to all of this so any help with the questions below would be most welcome:

1. Where to mount the compressor and tank on my E250 SMB? I have the normal propane and black water tanks underneath. Is it better to mount the compressor under the hood somewhere to have it kinda protected? Or since it gets so hot (compressor) is that a bad idea? The unit is sealed so technically it can be mounted on the frame, etc., I guess. I assume the tank can be mounted pretty much anywhere.

2. I have OEM Ford Upfitter Switches, but with nothing hooked up to them. If possible I'd like to use one of these. BUT, would I be better off running the compressor off my house battery bank (three 100ah AGMs)? I know I'd need another switch plus a relay if I go that route. If running off the chassis battery I'd likely run the engine if needed.

3. About the Upfitter Switches: all the info I find online is about F-series switches, not vans. Any links and/or advice to how to actually set up and use the switches in my 2011 E250 would be great.