Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-25-2023, 07:28 AM   #11

ScrapIron -- sounds like replacing the heater vac assembly "cured" your oil leak and "oil smell cab" - but wow that's odd - I'm not a mechanic by any means so don't understand how they could be related or connected ??

doublevan2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2023, 09:48 AM   #12

Great info everyone, thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by REDOVAL View Post
Long story but my original engine lasted 155k before extreme oil usage. After I removed the engine and tore it down the #10 cylinder oil control ring was no longer good and prompted the long block change. The root cause ended up being the K&N air cleaner letting too much dirt through and scoring the cylinder wall. This isn't surprising with as much offroad use the van saw (it was quite a lot of very heavy use). I have since replaced it with a new Ford long block and now only run an OEM air cleaner that is changed after each offroad run. This seems ridiculous but cost is negligible considering what the engine replacement cost. It is acceptable for these engines to burn up to 1 quart per 3k miles but the new engine has zero oil usage issues after 15k miles on the clock.
This is an extreme case but maybe useful for some.

Edit- the oil coolers on these engines are also known for leaking into the cooling system. This doesn't account for a lot of oil but if the coolant reservoir is brown that's the most likely cause.

Scott
I will watch that. Also, I have read and changed my maintenance routing on air cleaners in offroad/travel vans. If I'm doing what I want with my van it sees a lot of dust. Not like desert racing but lots more than typical vehicles by far. I have started to buy air filters in bunches from RockAuto and have several on the shelf.