Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-25-2024, 05:41 PM   #1

Looking for Advice on a SMB Purchase

Hello,

I'm very new to the SMB world. I've had a chevy astro van for many, many years and have loved many aspects of owning it. However, my wife and I are having a kid and need a bigger rig to safely transport our family on the various on and off road adventures we cherish.

I came across a locally listed SMB and wanted to get y'all's advice on three major questions I have about it. I'll list the full details of this van that I have below the three questions.

1) This van has a "Bulletproofed" 6.0L Diesel in it. I've read a lot about the issues with the 6.0, with many people warning to never get involved in one. However, I've also read opinions saying that if they are Bulletproofed, then they are reliable engines. Is it a bad idea to get into a SMB with the 6.0 engine or is the listed work sufficient to make it a good vehicle for many years and miles to come?

2) Is $70k a fair asking price for this rig? I've done a little poking around at different listings for similar vehicles, but am having a hard time weighing all the various options, as there just aren't that many exact matches for this unique rig.

3) Any other major repairs/upgrades I need to be aware of for this model years/engine/tranny combo? I've read about some oil filter line swaps on AMSOIL systems of this era that I need to look into... are there any other major gotchas that I should check for?

I'll also say that I met with the seller and he and his partner seem like great people who have really tried their best to do routine maintenance on the vehicle and were very open and honest about any (minor) issues that they were aware of. Thanks in advance for your advice.

Here are the full details for this vehicle:

2006 Ford Sportsmobile e350
NEW ENGINE: Bulletproofed 6.0l diesel (only ~26,000 mi)