Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2016, 09:43 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Flux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Palmdale, CA
Posts: 1,381
Cable and Fuse Sizing

Time for me to get serious and get the electrical system going. Haven't picked out which 4D AGM I will use yet. But here's a couple quicky things:

Will use Blue Sea 7622.

Have stock alternator 135amp I think? Will eventually upgrade to 200+ amp.


Thinking 2/0 cable between the batteries and the 7622. Too much?? Too Little?? Will I ever really see 200 Amps through there?? Obviously good for voltage drop considerations. I figure no more than a 22 ft run in total from battery to battery.

ANL fuses good?? I am confused on fuses. I will get it straight though on the Blue Sea Calculator with a bit of research.

Make me own grounding lug on the frame right?? and run the same size cable, 2/0.

Thanks in advance. Just want to start getting all this together ASAP. Found out there's a battery distributor near my work so I may go there to get the house battery, better for returns if I get a dud.
__________________

Flux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 10:48 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oregon Ciry Oregon
Posts: 2,426
The Blue Sea circuit wizard will tell you the wire size and fuse size you need. Just plug in your values.
__________________

__________________
"A straight line may be the shortest distance between two points but it is by no means the most interesting". Jon Pertwee as Dr. Who, The Time Warrior.
larrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 10:52 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Flux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Palmdale, CA
Posts: 1,381
I put in 200 Amps nominally, but I just can't think if I would ever really pull 200 amps back to the house battery and/or loads.

200 amps is 2/0 for 25 feet with <3% drop. Rule of thumb is always oversize right?

thanks larrie!
__________________
<br>
Tim - 2013 EB V10 Agile 4x4 SMB PH Ginger Army All Terrain Mobile HQ
Flux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 10:54 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
86Scotty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 8,235
22' of 2/0 wire is going to cost as much as your van. I ran 4 gauge with an 80 amp breaker and have no worries about it. It's working great so far.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Currently vanless. Weird.
86Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 11:34 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Flux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Palmdale, CA
Posts: 1,381
There's some pretty smokin deals on ebay if you poke around. Ancor marine grade too.
__________________
<br>
Tim - 2013 EB V10 Agile 4x4 SMB PH Ginger Army All Terrain Mobile HQ
Flux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 01:23 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
winmag4582001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 223
I'm using 4 gauge wire (Ebay) for my set up. Running about 12' total going back to 2 AGM batteries and inverter. I'll do a video when I'm done.
Here's my purchase list:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
4 Gauge Wire Red Amplifier Power/Ground 4 Ga Amp Wire 25 Feet Cable Roll | eBay
Going back to 2 of these batteries:
Duracell® AGM Deep Cycle Marine and RV Battery - Group Size 34M - Sam's Club

Personally I like going bigger but 4g will do, I consider that to be the minimum for the distance I'm running and what I'm doing.
__________________
2010 Ford E350 EB 6" Weldtec Lift
2017 Subaru Legacy
1990 Volvo 240GL
2x 1987 BMW 535is
1995 BMW 540i6
winmag4582001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 06:57 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
86Scotty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 8,235
Wow, that is a great deal on wire!

Looks like a good deal on that inverter too!

__________________
Currently vanless. Weird.
86Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 08:11 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
boywonder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,955
I'm running 2ga (not 2/0) for most battery cables. If you need to start your van off of the house batteries you'll be pumping around 500+ amps through those cables. I haven't needed to do that yet, but if the voltage drop through the cables is too much to crank the motor over, I'm happy to sit for 15-20 minutes and let the house batteries charge the starting battery if needed....then the cables will need to deliver less amps.

Not sure what a 200A alternator gets you over stock, but I suppose that it depends on the power needs in the back of the van. My biggest load is a 1000W inverter running a small microwave. No house air conditioning or anything.
__________________
2008 E350 RB passenger 4WD SMB penthouse
2013 KTM 350 EXC
2008 KTM 250 XCF-W
2000 KTM 200 EXC
2003 Honda Element
boywonder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 08:20 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Flux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Palmdale, CA
Posts: 1,381
Tossed and turned on this last night. I would do as you do and simply combine and let the starter charge up off the house.

I doubt I will have more than 40 amps of house loads and there's no microwave.

I guess the question becomes how many amps does a 50% discharged AGM 4D battery pull?? That is where the voltage drop get's more critical.

But Wonder is right about the stock alternator.
__________________
<br>
Tim - 2013 EB V10 Agile 4x4 SMB PH Ginger Army All Terrain Mobile HQ
Flux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2016, 08:43 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Scalf77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,480
I am running #2 also, I would think the real reason to move to the larger alternator would be the higher Idle output, not the total power.

-greg
__________________

__________________
2004 E350 EB V10 E/PH 2WD
Scalf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.