Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-04-2020, 05:36 PM   #1

Interior Work & Paint on 1991 E150

First timer here, I hope this is the right forum. I’m a novice looking for some advice on work I’m planning to do to my van. 

I already removed the rear closets and I want to re-make the couch/bed system to extend it all the way to the back. Possibly re-make the drawers/ice chest to match.

While I’m at it, I’m planning to tear up the rug and replace it with some kind of fake wood flooring. I noticed some old water damage in the back corner where the subfloor is rotted, so that will likely need to be replaced as well.

My questions are:

1. Is this a bad idea? Am I potentially opening a can of worms I don’t want to with such an old Sportsmobile? 

2. Would it be worth it to have this van painted? Curious how much that would cost and if that’s a complete waste of money, or if it would add to the re-sale value. There are currently some small rust patches (see photos).

Vehicle History:

I purchased this 1991 Ford E150 Sportmsobile last year.
Interior is in good condition, the previous owners had replaced the AC compressor and both gas tanks.
In the past year I’ve done the following upgrades: Ignition tune-up, new plugs, new starter, front brakes, new rear shocks, replaced the cracked right exhaust manifold, replaced both side valve cover gaskets. 
It runs well and is used lightly, mostly for weekend trips. 

Any advice or suggestions are welcome. Feel free to tell me if I’m an idiot for buying this in the first place. She’s been good to me so far.

Thanks,
 Sam
Attached Thumbnails
van01.jpg   van04.jpg   van03.jpg   van02.jpg  

shall54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 05:25 AM   #2

Garage
Makes sense to me.

Many people modify or completely redo their SMB. Make it work for you and repair damaged areas.