Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-19-2024, 02:50 PM   #1

Project 1993 EB

Hey folks.
Bay Area guy here.
I just bought a 1993 2wd Extended SMB with 94k
It has the 5.8 windsor.

I like to do a project thread on vehicles to post the work that gets done and see if I can get a conversation going about issues I'm dealing with.

I'm an artist and enjoy painting and exploring nature.
I grew up working on cars and have a little professional experience as a mechanic etc.

I have been living in a converted 4x4 Astro van for the past year and I'm really excited to have something bigger and more capable.

I have a lot of plans for this thing, including a 4x4 swap.
But first it needs to run right and I have some rust to deal with.

I'm attaching some photos to get the ball rolling.
I will add nicer photos when I get to actually take it on a trip.

I added some photos of the rust in the gutters, which is worrying.
It looks like the previous owner tried to cover it up using flexseal.
I have a little experience tig welding sheet metal but I really dont feel like patching this thing. I may have to though.

I also added a photo of the codes that showed up when it failed smog. No CEL of course. This is my first OBDI vehicle lol, Im pretty ignorant about it.

The guy said an EGR hose was unplugged, which is my punishment for not pulling the doghouse off myself I guess.
The cooling system code is likely due to it being about a gallon low.
I got a great deal on it which is why I didn't make the PO smog it.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on the rust, and what will fix these codes. I had a chat with the smog guy, whom I trust. He said to check for vacuum leaks and replace the o2 sensors.

More soon.
Mitch
Attached Thumbnails
image4.jpeg   image5.jpeg   image0.jpeg   image1.jpeg   image3.jpeg  

image9.jpeg   image14.jpeg   image17.jpeg   image13.jpeg