Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-27-2022, 12:35 PM   #1

Advantages & disadvantages of rooftop A/C vs built-in Starcool A/C systems

I'm a newbie & not mechanically inclined, please educate me on the pros and cons of a roof top a/c (the type you typically see on most RVs) and the built-in rear Starcool A/C systems that some vans have.

I'm guessing that the rooftop A/C is easier & less expensive to fix or replace than a Starcool, but that's a total assumption on my part.

The only obvious advantage I can see to the Starcool system is that it's a more streamlined look and allows you to park in certain places that a similar van with the rooftop A/C could not park due to height restrictions.

Doug-D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2022, 04:11 PM   #2

Garage
Sportsmobile won’t install roof top A/Cs on pop tops/penthouses. I would prefer a roof top unit.
Old 02-27-2022, 07:52 PM   #3

It's been a few years since there were many threads on this but many folks with Starcool vans have found them to be problematic and hard to find repairmen for when they get older. The fan underneath takes in a lot of crap and dies, that's about all I remember.

RV rooftop AC's used to be typically big boxy inefficient blocks, almost all 13,500 BTU and power hungry. All disadvantages for a camper van. Nowadays there are some different options but none are cheap. I put a low profile Coleman Polar Cub 9200? btu on a CCV pop top van and it was great but I haven't seen those around in awhile. It was much lower profile than the 13500 units, lighter and would run on a 2000 generator (like Honda/Yamaha type).
86Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2022, 11:18 PM   #4

Under-mount 12-volt A/Cs are have more capacity than a roof-top 12-volt A/C.

If you'll only be using shore power, a 120-volt rooftop is far cheaper and simpler, but they're noisy and need a lot of power.