Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2020, 12:41 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
BrianBlair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Silverado, CA
Posts: 458
Wiring for 2 sets of auxiliary lights?

I'm getting ready to install 2 pairs of LED lights on my van, one set of round pods on my front bumper and a set of cubes on my A-pillars once Vantage Optics has mounts back instock.

My question is this: what's the best way to wire up 2 sets of lights? Obviously I can run a separate wiring harness for each but it seems like having 2 additional wires coming off the battery is less than ideal.

FYI, I know nothing about electrical systems.....so feel free to correct my anywhere I need correcting!

Thoughts? Advice?
__________________

BrianBlair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 05:24 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Twoxentrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Annapolis, Maryland
Posts: 1,540
Garage
I run the PIAA halogen fog light inside the holes on the Aluminess front bumper and spliced a pair of PIAA LED driving lights into each of the Halogens wiring harness - they all come on the same time with one toggle in the cab. Contacted PIAA Tech support prior to confirm the amp and/or watt draw would be OK and they validated it wasn't going to be an issue (and in 5 years of use, havent had any problems). I use them all the time on pavement (but then PIAA's are DOT compliant so beam pattern allows for this), ***We do a lot of freeway traveling at night, or real early in the morning.
With the proper wire size you can come off the battery with power for all, and then branch off where needed (or convenient). Recommend a fuse in-line on each.
And, from what you described for placement, I would install a separate switch for each set if you are planning to also use them on the road (since the higher mount on the a-pillars may present a problem to other drivers).
__________________

__________________
TwoXentrix
"AWOL"
Twoxentrix is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 05:30 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 125
Did you find a good spot to run the wiring through the firewall? If so, where?
__________________
Jean Claude Van Dad
killacks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 06:20 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Twoxentrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Annapolis, Maryland
Posts: 1,540
Garage
Fortunately I never had to run wire, it was already existing from the initial Sportsmobile build - I only had to tapped into the wiring harness of the floods. I was planning on adding a couple lights on the outer corner angles of the front bumper, but have refrained due to the fact I already have a huge spaghetti of wires under the dash from all the other stuff - cant imagine squeezing in anything else. If I finally decide to go that route - someone else will be doing it!
__________________
TwoXentrix
"AWOL"
Twoxentrix is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 07:24 PM   #5
Site Team
 
BroncoHauler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southern New Mexico
Posts: 9,281
Here's a completely different option, a wireless controller.

I have mixed feelings about it, because it adds a lot of complexity compared to some wire, a relay, and a switch, but there is a certain elegance to this. I have no firsthand knowledge of this however.

https://triggercontroller.com/?doing...55389404296875


Herb
__________________
SMB-less as of 02/04/2012. Our savings account is richer, but our adventures are poorer.
BroncoHauler is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Sportsmobile Registry

Babe

Babe

Clyde

ormtnbiker
Add your Sportsmobile
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×