Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-22-2022, 02:02 PM   #1

Locker for the big_dirt_e350

Im thinking of a locker for my rig... I have zero knowledge....

I called a local tranny and diff place here in boise and they quoted me $2300 for a true trac... Installed with new bearings...

Seems very high to me...

Any info?

Thanks and have a great weekend!

Ps 2009 e350 extended 2wd 5.4 moog diesel springs infront, wheel spacers hellwig front and rear sway, bilsteins, stock size ko2s

happycampingcouple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2022, 03:23 PM   #2

Vans have a different axle spline count than pickups, which can cause you some grief. Some lockers are not available with the van spline count. This can affect availability (and price).

All that being said, I suggest looking at the manufacturer's websites to confirm the locker you want is available, and calling around for prices on the install. I think Buck's quoted me about 1800 on a Dana 60 a couple years ago, but don't take that as gospel.

I used True tracs in both ends of my van, and I'm happy with them (Dana 60 front, Sterling 10.5 rear).
loper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2022, 08:36 AM   #3

$2300 seems a little high but not outrageous based on the prices others have reported.

Might help to do some research on limited slip diff vs locking diff, and the various kinds of each. You mention you want a "locker," but a truetrac is a LSD. So I think there might be some confusion with the terminology.

This is an really great video going over most of the basics:
https://youtu.be/x40WGUtdaLI
motovan_mn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2022, 08:47 AM   #4

Garage
I paid about $1,100 with a gear change just for labor on a rear locker install a few years back.
Seems like your shop is a bit high but in the ball park with parts included.
rizzabove is offline   Reply With Quote