Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2022, 08:35 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 82
Help! Scangauge Causing Crank No Start

Pretty much as it sounds. I have a scangauge II on an 01 7.3. When I pull the scanguage out of the OBDII connector, lights on the dash flash when I crank it over. It sounds like it starts to catch, but then doesn't fire. No check engine light until it's cranking.

I'm trying to install an Edge CTS3, EGT probe and a HydraChip today. I plugged in the CTS3 and scanned for codes, but there's nothing - while it's not running. It won't start with the Edge monitor/s either.

Any ideas? What could cause this? Should I plug the scan gauge back in, start it up and remove the scangauge while it's runnicang?

Thank you all! Wish I could buy you all a beer over the internet.

Max
__________________

maxswasser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 09:03 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
1der's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,810
Is the hydra installed on the PCM ?
Where are you located?

Let's see if I understand:
original config -
Scangauge installed and no tuner - starts and runs fine.

Change 1 -
disconnect Scangauge from OBD2 port (tuner not installed) and you get the no start?
__________________

__________________
Ray
Beastie 3: 2002 7.3 EB Cargo: Agile TTB, CCV Mid Top, Custom Walk Through, Lots of stuff added. BlingMyRig.com
1der is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 09:22 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
carringb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 5,189
If there’s no check engine light when on, no crank, then the PCM is not getting power through it’s dedicated circuit. Check the fuse, after disconnecting anything connected to it.
__________________
2000 E450 dually V10 wagon
carringb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 09:28 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1der View Post
Is the hydra installed on the PCM ?
Where are you located?

Let's see if I understand:
original config -
Scangauge installed and no tuner - starts and runs fine.

Change 1 -
disconnect Scangauge from OBD2 port (tuner not installed) and you get the no start?
This is correct. I just plugged it back in and it starts fine. There are three codes stored, but it will only read the first one to me which is a low voltage code PO562.

Do you think it's safe to see what happens if I remove the scangauge while it's running to plug in the edge monitor?

Thanks!

Carringb - it cranks, just doesn't fire
maxswasser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 12:46 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
1der's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,810
Was any attempt made at installing the Hydra on the PCM?
__________________
Ray
Beastie 3: 2002 7.3 EB Cargo: Agile TTB, CCV Mid Top, Custom Walk Through, Lots of stuff added. BlingMyRig.com
1der is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 12:58 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1der View Post
Was any attempt made at installing the Hydra on the PCM?
No, I figured I should deal with this issue first. Should I try?

Also, I’m in New Haven, CT
maxswasser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 01:34 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
1der's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,810
Sounds like maybe a bad ground and the system may be grounding via the SG2.

check battery terminals

check grounds at the power distribution module in the engine compartment especially the strap that goes to the front sheet metal behind the driver headlight area. Do not rely on a tight connection. Remove and clean and reinstall.

Is the "wait to start" light coming on when you first turn the key?

I would not attempt install of chip yet. I agree solve this issue first.
__________________
Ray
Beastie 3: 2002 7.3 EB Cargo: Agile TTB, CCV Mid Top, Custom Walk Through, Lots of stuff added. BlingMyRig.com
1der is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 04:50 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 82
I cleaned this terminal. It looks like a small connection has broken off. Could this be it? I can’t find a wire that would go there anywhere.
Attached Thumbnails
3B86E169-BA7B-4CC2-A400-0C6BDE6E034B.jpg  
maxswasser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 05:05 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
1der's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2,810
The missing wire is probably not anything original, maybe for an aftermarket accessory. But the other two, if you did not already, remove the bolt, clean the surfaces with a bit of sandpaper, clean the bolt head and threads, clean the hole, and reinstall.

Not saying that is the issue as there are lots of grounds but that one is pretty major.

If I get a chance I will look at my factory wiring manual and see if there is a troubleshooting chart.
__________________
Ray
Beastie 3: 2002 7.3 EB Cargo: Agile TTB, CCV Mid Top, Custom Walk Through, Lots of stuff added. BlingMyRig.com
1der is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2022, 09:10 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 82
So I got the edge monitor up and running. It’s reading 7.5 volts. The Scangauge is reading normal volts.

What about the Scangauge plug in the OBDII connector would be keeping the volts up?

I’m open to ideas. Thanks for your help. Truly amazing what people are willing to do for others on here.
__________________

maxswasser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
scangauge no start

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Sportsmobile Registry

2015 Ford E350

Hondo

Moby

new2tx
Add your Sportsmobile
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×