Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-18-2012, 07:03 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Scalf77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,639
Solar Panel mounted on Yakima or Thule tracks

I recently installed a Kyocera KD140GX-LPU 140 Watt panel using my existing Yakima tracks that were mounted on the Penthouse top.


I purchased 2 sets of Yakima Landing Pads 1's http://www.yakima.com/shop/racksyste.../landing-pad-1

I used aluminum angle to make brackets to fit the solar panel and the landing pads. (sorry no photos of the brackets) I modified the landing pads base to fit my bracket. I also modified a allen wench about 1/4" so I can adjust the pads as they are under the overhang of the panel.


, and the cover to fit with the bracket installed.

I also purchase a Seachoice cable thru hull fitting http://www.jamestowndistributors.com...+Hull+Fittings



I needed to drill out the fitting to fit the MC4 cables



I modified a allen wench about 1/4" so I can adjust the pads as they are under the overhang of the panel.

-greg
__________________

Scalf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 07:34 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
86Scotty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 8,485
Solar Panel mounted on Yakima or Thule tracks

Thanks Greg! I've always wondered how I would do this. You've just answered it for me!
__________________

__________________
Currently vanless. Weird.
86Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 04:55 PM   #3
Site Team
 
daveb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Turlock Ca
Posts: 9,894
Garage
Re: Solar Panel mounted on Yakima or Thule tracks

Greg, sure looks good and before I decided on a Aluminess rack, that was the way I was gonna go. Curious, did you use some kind of loctite? I've had a nasty time of those coming loose and sliding (Yakama) in my case and have never figured out why they keep doing that. Because I regularly move the towers I never wanted to try some kind of loctite.

Nice job.
__________________
2006 Ford 6.0PSD EB-50/E-PH SMB 4X4 Rock Crawler Trailer

Sportsmobile 4X4 Adventures..........On and off road adventures
daveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 05:02 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
86Scotty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 8,485
Re: Solar Panel mounted on Yakima or Thule tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveb
Greg, sure looks good and before I decided on a Aluminess rack, that was the way I was gonna go. Curious, did you use some kind of loctite? I've had a nasty time of those coming loose and sliding (Yakama) in my case and have never figured out why they keep doing that. Because I regularly move the towers I never wanted to try some kind of loctite.

Nice job.
Mine haven't moved. Don't they have little lock washers on them? I thought mine did.
__________________
Currently vanless. Weird.
86Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 05:44 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Scalf77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,639
Re: Solar Panel mounted on Yakima or Thule tracks

Quote:
Originally Posted by daveb
Greg, sure looks good and before I decided on a Aluminess rack, that was the way I was gonna go. Curious, did you use some kind of loctite? I've had a nasty time of those coming loose and sliding (Yakama) in my case and have never figured out why they keep doing that. Because I regularly move the towers I never wanted to try some kind of loctite.

Nice job.
Dave, I did not use loctite, I have had it on almost two months so far no problems, I also have the same Pad for my towers, and to date have not had any issues.

-greg
Scalf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 12:37 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
tonyvoudy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 212
Re: Solar Panel mounted on Yakima or Thule tracks

I love it! Where / how did you end up routing the wires internally or did you already have a previous panel in place prior to your install?

Do you notice and noise from the install while driving or is it pretty much the same?
tonyvoudy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 12:54 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Ultrasport12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Bay Area ,CA
Posts: 761
Re: Solar Panel mounted on Yakima or Thule tracks

Its looks great...I have almost the same panel you will love it...Thanks for the post...

...Jamie
__________________
2008 Ford E-350 V-10 EB
Transformer Interior
U-Joint Off Road 4x4 kit in the garage
2004 F-350 Dana 60
Ultrasport12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 01:03 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,612
Solar Panel mounted on Yakima or Thule tracks

Nice work
Ocsmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 05:47 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Scalf77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,639
Re: Solar Panel mounted on Yakima or Thule tracks

Quote:
Where / how did you end up routing the wires internally or did you already have a previous panel in place prior to your install?
After coming thru the top with the thru hull cable guide, I came in through the existing hole on plywood ceiling (driverís side front) for the wire that goes to ceiling lights. In my case it also has the RG6 coax for the "TV antenna". I did have to enlarge that hole slightly. Those cables are in flexible wire covering, and go down to and tuck behind front penthouse upholstery trim, Removing that gives you access to the hole going through the roof. Again I enlarged it and put a bigger thru hull connector to protect from sharp edges. After that it was above the trim back to where I mounted solar controller. I did not take any pictures, but could probably go back and snap some off.

-greg
Scalf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2017, 10:17 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Scalf77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,639
Installed a larger refrigerator about a year ago,one panel was not doing the job. I purchase two new panels from Grape Solar. I purchased the GS-Star-180W-US.pdf . from Home Depot, with there ship to store option you don't pay shipping. It only took a day for me, but then I am just up the road from Eugene. They have a specific panel that is made in the USA, the USA version is normally $258.00 for a 180 watt panel, or $230.00 if you want the Import version. It is just as wide, but a inch shorter in length as Kyocera KD140GX-LPU 140 Watt panel .



Vmpp of 19.67 volts, Impp of 9.77A

For installing I did away Yakima Landing Pads and just mounted aluminum angle directly to the Yakima tracks, I purchase the landing pad replacement hardware instead.









Because the existing panel also had MC4 connectors, wiring was easy as I just used a set of MC4 Parallel connector / Adapter / 1M2F+2M1F /TUV / T Branch Connectors

-greg

I have a used Kyocera KD140GX-LPU 140 Watt panel , if someone local to Portland wants to make a offer..
__________________

Scalf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×