Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-16-2023, 10:57 AM   #11

Garage
https://youtu.be/Jb_miPZzrbM

This guy knows a few things. Love the Trail Mater.

Old 02-16-2023, 11:18 AM   #12

Quote:
Originally Posted by motovan_mn View Post
Does the radius arm or 4-bar linkage used in coil systems allow the solid axle to move more easily than an axle constrained by a leaf spring?
One thing is for certain, from my observations over the past 40+ years. Coil suspension are more prone to "death wobble" than with an axle sitting on leaf springs. All those bushings the coil suspensions pivot on - track bar and locating links - get some wear and tear on them and that's when problems happen.

My first 4x4 van, leaf sprung, I drove for 32+ years. My current 4x4 van I've been driving for 15 years and the front end sits on coils. Can't say as I could tell any difference in ride between the two. But I never had any front end problems in the leaf-sprung van. I've had to change out the track bar and bushings in the current van...went into severe death wobble after hitting some rough pavement on I-15 in the Virgin River canyon a few miles southwest of St George, Utah. I thought I was going to end up in the river before I got it stopped and under control.

Ford went to coil suspension on the front ends of the Superduty in 2005, I believe. Before that, reports of death wobble were rare. Very common after the change to coil suspension.
Old 02-16-2023, 02:54 PM   #13

Quote:
Originally Posted by vandiesel View Post