RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2011, 09:15 PM   #1
Member
 
Rapidz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 75
It just quit

Hi:
Driving out of town, 15 miles from the house, the engine stalled a second and continued running for another 100 yards when the engine light came on for a second and the whole motor shut down.
It still turned over but the 7 liter diesel engine didn't fire up. I changed the cam sensor but that didn't do anything. Had to tow it to the Ford garage.
It's Labor Day weekend, so I won't know what's wrong.
Do you have to reset anything after installing a new cam sensor?
Don't even know if that was the problem. But, it was the only part I had in the rig, so I gave it a shot.
Any ideas?
Rapidz
__________________

Rapidz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 09:54 PM   #2
Site Team
 
daveb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Turlock Ca
Posts: 10,019
Garage
Re: It just quit

IPR sensor did it to me (6.0). You checked the crash button as well, correct?
__________________

__________________
2006 Ford 6.0PSD EB-50/E-PH SMB 4X4 Rock Crawler Trailer

Sportsmobile 4X4 Adventures..........On and off road adventures
daveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 10:09 PM   #3
Member
 
Rapidz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 75
Re: It just quit

Hi:
Thanks for the info. I'm an unmechanic. What's a crash button?
Rapidz
Rapidz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 10:29 PM   #4
Site Team
 
BroncoHauler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southern New Mexico
Posts: 9,473
Re: It just quit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapidz
Hi:
Thanks for the info. I'm an unmechanic. What's a crash button?
Rapidz
There's a fuel cutoff sensor that cuts off fuel flow if there's a "significant" bump/crash.

There's a small, finger sized, hole in the plastic panel near the passenger footwell. Along the side of the body, not the firewall. Inside is a small reset button for the sensor.


Herb

[EDIT: at least that's the case on the 6.0L]
__________________
SMB-less as of 02/04/2012. Our savings account is richer, but our adventures are poorer.
BroncoHauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 08:05 AM   #5
Member
 
Rapidz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 75
Re: It just quit

Hi:
Oh no. I totally forgot about that. the previous owner mentioned that. I'll give it a try. Ford doesn't open until Tuesday (holiday weekend). Maybe that's all it is.
Good exploring,
Rapidz
Rapidz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 09:44 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
jage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franktown, CO
Posts: 7,602
Re: It just quit

Has it ever been the fuel cutoff switch?
__________________
and then
everything changed
jage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 09:47 AM   #7
Site Team
 
BroncoHauler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Southern New Mexico
Posts: 9,473
Re: It just quit

Quote:
Originally Posted by jage
Has it ever been the fuel cutoff switch?
Very true.
__________________
SMB-less as of 02/04/2012. Our savings account is richer, but our adventures are poorer.
BroncoHauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 10:01 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Scalf77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,792
Re: It just quit

I had it happen once, I just finished buttoning up the van after running some new wires for the carputer upgrades and when I went to fire up the van, it never fired. After the first wave of panic went over ( I was getting ready to embark on a trip), I remembered the sensor. I will say that that it being behind the kick panel that i had just popped back on, and that fact that I was working in that area, was the reason it was set off. So I would have to say it was induced by myself.

I do remember when my van died the first time and was towed to Ford it was one of the first things they checked.

-greg
Scalf77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 07:50 PM   #9
Member
 
Rapidz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 75
Re: It just quit

It was an exhaust sensor. How many sensors does a Ford diesel have? Yikes.
The scary thing is we are usually 40 miles from the nearest pavement on dirt roads out in the Oregon and Idaho deserts.
It could have been a disaster.
Luckily, we were on the highway close to town and a Ford dealer.
It did cost $130 in towing.
Thanks for all the tips given on this problems.
Rapidz
Rapidz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 11:51 PM   #10
Site Team
 
daveb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Turlock Ca
Posts: 10,019
Garage
Re: It just quit

It seems they make that thing so nothing will hurt the engine. What's wierd is twice I've had the radiator loose water and the Ford gauge never showed a problem. My scan gauge showed a high temp but nothing shut down. Maybe it never got hot enough for any sensor to trip. I wish there was a way to override some of the sensors, especially when other add on gauges don't show a problem.
__________________

__________________
2006 Ford 6.0PSD EB-50/E-PH SMB 4X4 Rock Crawler Trailer

Sportsmobile 4X4 Adventures..........On and off road adventures
daveb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Sportsmobile SIP or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×