Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-21-2009, 06:10 AM   #81

Re: How did you hear about Sportsmobile Forum?

stumbled on to it after many ggogle searches for sports mobile

TXSpike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 11:33 AM   #82

newbie here... wife and I have been thinking about a SMB and found the forum through internet search... alot of great info here. Will be lurking and searching for a bit but in the market...
hawkgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 04:21 PM   #83

Some friends have a 2wd SMB, but it always seemed too... refined. My brother had an E-150 RB for years. He called it the COW - Cave On Wheels - as it was only slightly upgraded from bare cargo. He upgraded to a 2003 E-350 EB 7.3 with Quadvan 4wd, bare cargo, then began working out the interior. Floor, insulated/upholstered walls, 2 more capain's chairs, bench, etc. With 4wd, and a little more open space inside, a van seemed to make more sense. We borrowed it a couple of times, and I was hooked.

My bro pointed me to the forum, and I began lurking, signed up to see photos, and then ended up buying a 2002 E-350 EB 7.3 Q4wd in July. I found it here on the forum.

Since buying the van, I've added a hitch-mounted bike rack, installed a 3rd captain's chair, added a ladder, modified the cross-bars, and done a few other things - and paid the local Ford dealer to replace the HPOP (uggh). The forum has been a fantastic resource, and it saved me $50 on the ladder order. Looking forward to many future adventures and to swapping information here on the SMB Forum.
Old 11-02-2009, 09:28 AM   #84